Schubert and the Symphony – A New Perspective


Next book   Previous book

Schubert and the Symphony

A New Perspective

Brian Newbould

Symphonic Studies No. 1 (ISSN 0966-0178)

ISBN: 978-0-907689-26-3 – Hardback

ISBN: 978-0-907689-27-0 – Paperback

Extent: 317 pages

Size: 14.7 x 22.3 x 3.1 cm

Weight: 0.59 kg

Published: May 1992

Composition: Demy octavo ~ Illustrated ~ numerous appendices ~ Bibliography ~ Index

Illustrations: 10 b/w; 101 music exx.

Table of Contents

Schubert and the Symphony is the first full-length study of Schubert's career as a symphonist: astonishingly, his Symphonies have never received the detailed study in print that their prominence in the orchestral repertoire would suggest they deserve. In this book Professor Brian Newbould, perhaps the best-known of contemporary Schubert scholars, examines each Symphony for its individuality and shows its relationship to Schubert's symphonic oeuvre. He gives particular attention to the sketched works that have recently emerged in his own completions – not least the visionary Tenth Symphony – and to the two familiar masterpieces of Schubert's maturity, the 'Unfinished' and the 'Great C major'. He also casts new light on the role of Haydn and Mozart as models for the younger Schubert.

Schubert and the Symphony, which is profusely illustrated with music examples, is conceived as a companion to the Symphonies for the listener, the professional musician and the student. A full-scale, detailed study of Schubert as a symphonist was long overdue; this book fills that gap.


quotea model of urbane, questing scholarshipquote

Michael Kennedy   The Sunday Telegraph


quotecombines a commonsense view of this remarkable oeuvre with a total command of its intricaciesquote

Nicholas Williams   The Musical Times


quotesuccinct, sensible and incisive, this is by far the best study of the Schubert symphonies to datequote

David Johnson   Fanfare


quotehighly interesting, and occasionally surprisingquote

Max Harrison   Musical Opinion


Toccata News

Given ‘to recognize outstanding published research’

Feb 28, 2012

Comrades in Art reviewed in The Scotsman

Jul 4, 2010

Support Us

Toccata Press is a labour of love – any £££ appreciated!

See Also

Schubert and his Circle

More Schubert, inc. Piano Sonata D840, completed Newbould